Sandymount Hotel enjoys a long & distinguished history which continues to whisper through the bricks & corniced ceilings of the 7 Victorian Houses which now comprise the modernised hotel.
These Victorian houses were originally built in 1866 as homes for Dublin City’s aristocracy. Famous residents included Sir Henry Robinson, Vice President of the Irish Local Government Board (1879-1891) and more recently, the Irish writer, Mary Kenny.
A LOUGHRAN TRADITION
As it stands today, Sandymount Hotel owes its roots to George Loughran from Cookstown, Co. Tyrone & his wife Rosaleen from Downpatrick, Co. Down in Northern Ireland. Together they opened the hotel in 1955 under its original name: The Mount Herbert Hotel. A formidable team, George & Rosaleen were the first to instill an ethos of heartfelt care and service for their guests. This legacy continues right into the twenty-first century through their son John Loughran. A fact which has been recognised in the numerous awards Sandymount Hotel has received in recent years for guest excellence.
THE OLD HAIG DISTILLERY
Interestingly, Sandymount Hotel is sited on the Old Haig’s Distillery in Dublin. This distillery was founded by Robert Haig, who descended from John Haig, Laird of Bemyrside, the first distiller of the famous Scotch whiskey. Set on 21 acres of land, the distillery operated from 1789 to 1860. The nearby river Dodder supplied power to the distillery through a sluice running wheel on the river.
In its early history, the distillery developed a notorious reputation due to frequent conflicts with the Revenue authorities. Many strange rumours spread relating to Excise Officers and it was widely believed that some unpopular civil servants mysteriously disappeared. While it is well-known that Haig fought the Revenue by every means possible, in the end he was forced to succumb by dissolving his business.
The bricks from the original distillery were used to construct Sandymount Hotel. From a humble beginning of 4 bedrooms in one house (No. 7 Herbert Road), 7 adjoining houses were acquired. The hotel now boasts 168 refurbished bedrooms, magnificent private landscaped gardens, a restaurant, bar, state-of-the-art conference suites & private parking.
A TEMPERANCE HOTEL
For many years, the hotel was known as a Temperance Hotel because it did not have a public bar. While this was in keeping with its past ethos, the current Sandymount Hotel is fully licensed and modern day visitors can enjoy a relaxing drink in the Lineout Bar which overlooks the hotel’s magnificent gardens.
SANDYMOUNT HOTEL - A NEW ERA RESPECTFUL OF HISTORIC VALUES
In 2011 the hotel marked a new direction by officially changing its name to Sandymount Hotel. The new name celebrates the hotel’s excellent location, close to the city centre as well as Sandymount Strand which is an institution among Dubliners who enjoy taking a stroll along the beach promenade & charming nearby village.
We look forward to welcoming you to the new-look Sandymount Hotel where the care and values associated with the long-held Loughran tradition will always be a cornerstone for the future.